Drift Ice by Jennifer Atkinson

SKU 978-0-9797450-0-3


The poems in Drift Ice view the natural world through a lens of ecological and spiritual concerns. They focus especially on Prince William Sound in Alaska fifteen years after the Exxon-Valdez oil spill, Long Island Sound at the estuarial mouth of the Connecticut River, and Sri Lanka before (and, in one poem, after) the tsunami. The poems address the myth of a once-pristine wilderness and the indifferent, ever-changing nature of “nature” and our human place in it, as they also investigate the flexibility and lambency of lyric form.

“In her new and marvelous book, Drift Ice, Jennifer Atkinson evokes the natural world with preternatural clarity…This is a beautiful book, mature, exciting, innovative, and unforgettable.”—Alan Shapiro

Shipping Rates Within the United States:
1-3 Books = $6.95
4-6 Books = $12.95
7-9 Books = $17.95
10 or More Books = $23.95
Broadside = $10.00

Shipping Rates Outside the United States:
1-3 Books = $13.95
4-6 Books = $29.95
7-9 Books = $41.95
10 or More Books = $61.95
Broadside = $10.00

About The Author

Apart from Drift Ice, Jennifer Atkinson is the author of two collections of poetry: The Dogwood Tree (University of Alabama Press, 1990), which won the University of Alabama Poetry Prize, and The Drowned City (Northeastern University Press, 2000), winner of the Samuel French Morse Prize. Her poetry and nonfiction can be seen in many leading journals and have been honored with Pushcart Prizes. She taught in Nepal, in Japan, at the University of Iowa, and at Washington University before joining the faculty of George Mason University.

Customer Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Drift Ice by Jennifer Atkinson”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories: , SKU: 978-0-9797450-0-3